Grown Folks Business

 

In your relationships are you the talker or a listener? Do you feel the need to be in control all the time, or is it okay with you to let your partner take charge? The reason I’m asking is because a recent conversation with my husband spawned the comment: 

 Most women do not listen to their man! Whether it be in the bedroom -OR- the boardroom.

Is this true? Or do you LISTEN within reason? I know the first thing most of you will say is that it all depends on what it is. Because of course, nobody wants to feel like your significant other is your ‘Daddy’, or you’re being told what to do either. 

Even more interesting is the fact that when a woman does ask her spouse for his opinion or advice about something she will generally follow-up with the same question to a close girlfriend or confidant.  And then depending on the outcome of that extended conversation, decide what she should do. Why is that? 

On the subject of  listening in the bedroom; that’s a whole other situation in itself.  Both men and women have an equal role to play in satisfying the needs of each other.  I’m sure you’ve heard the saying:

 What you won’t do, another women will.  

So, are you open and willing to exlore new experiences with your partner that will arouse and enhance your love life?  Or are you stuck in the same old routine of things?

What I wonder is if the reason sometimes women get the – I’m gonna do what I want to attitude, has anything to do with women devaluing the man in a relationship.  Especially nowadays that most families are a two-income household with women sometimes earning just as much if not more than their spouses. Could these all be contributing factors to the woman’s belief that she knows best?

What’s your take on all of this sistahs? Do you agree with my husband’s assumption that most women do not listen to their man? Or do you believe this is just another attempt for the man to have the upper hand in the relationship?

Published in: on February 10, 2011 at 9:31 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sistaspace.wordpress.com/2011/02/10/grown-folks-business/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I listen to my man depending on the topic…LOL! But I don’t think it has anything to do with being in control. Ultimately, its about respect. I mean, I should listen to him because I want him to listen to me. But I don’t always listen because sometimes he wants to talk when I am busy cooking dinner or some other chore. But at the end of the day, I should lsiten.


Leave a Reply

