Just Be

by guest author Melissa Ricks,

On our daily pursuit to try and cope with LIFE, we look to all sorts of aids to help us make it through.   Recently, on one of my daily routine adventures, I was rushing my kids to get in the car so we wouldn’t be late for school and work. This is nothing new, because it seems no matter how early I get up there is always something that derails our haste to “Get in the car” by 8:00 a.m. Well, as I am rushing my kids, my 9 year old turns to me and says: “Mom, we are always rushing.” And like a ton of bricks it hit me! Why are we always rushing? Why can’t we just be still sometimes? Is it that hard to just be?

When we were little we couldn’t wait to be 16 so we could drive. When we were 16 we couldn’t wait until we were 18 so we could get out of our parent(s) house. Boy, what in the world were we thinking??? When we were 18 we couldn’t wait to be 21 so we could legally drink. Now in adulthood we can’t wait until Friday so the work week can end.

I spend my whole day rushing so I can get to the next activity on my “list.” Even when I try to “Just Be” I find it hard to just let my mind wonder. In the words of Eckhart Tolle (spiritual teacher), we should practice just listening to our heartbeat for a few minutes each day. He says that it will help us become better at “just being.”

So this is the challenge for this week. Sit silently with yourself for a few minutes each day. Stick a posted note on your mirror that says: STOP and SMILE. Enjoy a laugh with a friend. Watch a child play or better yet join a child in play. One day this week, do away with the routine, just for one day. Try skipping down the hall…so what if people think you are a little…off! Turn up your favorite song on the radio and JAM! Watch a TV show you haven’t seen in a while. Take a bubble bath. Go for a walk if you can stand the cold. Have a snow ball fight!! Do whatever it is that will help you pause and enjoy life!

This week, I challenge you to take a moment and Just Be, and then stop by SISTA Space blog and tell us what you did!

[image credit: My Solitude Painting by Padmakar Kappagantula]

Published in: on February 2, 2011 at 12:43 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sistaspace.wordpress.com/2011/02/02/just-be/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know I am so late in responding to this post but better late than never! I loooooooooooved “Just Be”! Last week I really just allowed myself to sit in quiet…on my lunch break I sat at a window with a great view of the outdoors and had lunch in silence! Its the little things in life that matter the most! Thanks Lisa!

    • Karen,
      Taking time out for ourselves is so important to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Continue to find your solitude as much as you can. Enjoy! Thanks for sharing.

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

  2. From the mouths of babes!! They keep up humble, they keep us on track, they hold us accountable!! They learn from us and grow from us. Great life experience to share. I remember those days. Sometimes it wouldn’t be because I had too much on my plate, but because I was tired as all get out….. soccer, school, commute, working, cleaning – when did I have time for me !!!Grown up now, now I’m slower, contemplative, wouldn’t say totally relaxed, but all things are placed in perspective.

    • Hi Cindy,
      Thanks for sharing. Yes, it is so true how intuitive our children can be these days, and how much we can learn from them as well. Juggling the hats of being a wife, mom, and having a career is all a balancing act. I’ve yet to get figure it all out. Some days are more exhausting than others, but it’s all worth it. It seems you figured it out somehow. Finding time for yourself is a must!

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

      P

  3. I love it! And you are so right, we are rushing through life. – I overcame rushing by learning to say “No”. So when I don’t really have time, don’t really want to do it or if my presence/input is not a requirement, I say, “No”. Now I have more time to do what I want to do…I am still late for everything (lol) but one problem at a time. –PeachiePW

    • Hi Peachie,
      You are so right about knowing when to say “No”. Too often we get caught up in so many committments because we just want to please everyone. It is best to know your limits and do what’s healthy for you. Time management is a never ending challenge. Don’t worry we’ll all get it one day. Thanks for sharing.

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

  4. This is so true just take time to breathe and to enjoy being still and I have learned to slow down and not to rush all the time it has really been a good experience learning to just be still.

    • Hi Sandy,
      Thank you for joining in on the conversation. Yes! It’s good that you have come to the realization that it’s not necessary to be busy all the time. Continue to give yourself permission to chill! 🙂

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

  5. This is me all the way work, church and dance rehearsal all week, and I know I need to take a moment to sit my lil tail down, it took me and my son to get sick to sit down and chill out. My body said STOP!!!!!!!!!!!! Good post Twin!

    • Hi Dee, (my Twin!)
      I am so happy to see you are enjoying the posts here at Sista Space. Please continue to join in on the conversation. It is important to listen to the signals that our body gives us. When ignored, we almost always will suffer some consequences from it. Continue to find ways to incorporate some happy for yourself.

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

  6. Melissa and Lisa, you ladies are blessing my life with this sista space. You talk about real life issues that every woman has or will face. I’m looking forward to taking some time out and “Just Be”. I will definitely share in the upcoming days… Great word!

    • Hi Nikeia,

      Thank you for your continued support. We’re glad to see how the Community Circle here at Sista Space is making a real impact on our readers. It is good to hear that you will be enjoying some “me time”.

      Peace and Blessings,
      Sista Space


Leave a Reply

