Fail to Plan; Plan to Fail.

THE NOR’EASTER POST MORTEM

No, nobody died!  BUT, braving blustery winds, maneuvering through snowflakes the size of cotton balls, combating failed windshield wipers, defeating swerving cars, hitchhiking, YES, you heard right, I said hitchhiking, and walking in snow covered streets up to my ankles, sure felt like an out of body experience to me, that deserves some afterthought and further examination.

Allow me to explain.  The phrase ‘Post Mortem’ is the saying my husband and his colleagues have coined the accountability meeting which is held at work after an (IT) catastrophe has happened to discuss the previous day’s events.  A typical agenda would follow as such:

  1. Explanation of initial problem
  2. Attempts taken to remedy the situation    
  3. Road blocks encountered or loss associated with failure
  4. Resolution
  5. Lessons learned
  6. Action plan to avoid future occurences

 And with that, here are the turn of events that brought me to the Post Mortem table to account for the day after winter storm, January 26, 2011.

1. I went to work, despite repeated warnings of a nor’easter snowstorm with potential of up to five inches of snowfall.

2. No attempts to go home initially, until the government dismissed everyone 2 hours early from work.  My departure time was 4:00pm, unfortunately I was doomed.  Obviously, way to late.  And so the saga begins….

3. I-270N was disastrous and became a virtual parking lot.  My car put me out on the side of the road stranded with no where to go. Worse, when I tried to to flag down a ride-on transit bus, the driver shouted that the bus was too full, and shut it’s doors in my face. 

4. And then, a stranger appeared in a SUV, who I’ll say was sent by God. Only because, Lord knows I am not the one to get into anyone’s car that I don’t know. But I was a little desperate to say the least.  He asked me where I was headed to, and let me tell you, when he said he was  going in the same direction, I just knew my prayers for help were answered.  A commute home of usually 45 minutes had taken me a total of 5 hours, and left me with a $263 towing fee. 

5. Looking back at all of this, I must admit that the chaos that ensued could have greatly been avoided if only: I stopped using up every hour of my leave until the next pay period that causes me to have to go into the office on days like this one; paid more attention to the weatherman’s forecast; AND listened to my husband’s numerous pleas for me to leave work early.

6.  You can best believe that next time at the first sight of a snowflake I am out the door! 

The take home message from me sharing my experience is an example of how our lives can be easily altered in the blink of an eye when we fail to plan.   In the words of Maya Angelou,  “Hoping for the best, prepared for the worst, and unsurprised by anything in between.”

Published in: on January 27, 2011 at 11:58 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sistaspace.wordpress.com/2011/01/27/fail-to-plan-plan-to-fail-the-post-mortem/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I am happy to report that I stayed home. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I were stuck in the car for 7 hours as one of my friends reported to me. More snow to come!!!


Leave a Reply

