Tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

His Spirit Still Lives

Reflections of the past, realization of the present, and hopes for the future

As my honor to  Martin Luther King, Jr., I share with you my thoughts on a man who stood in the forefront for peace and equality and how he is remembered today.  My earliest recollection of Martin Luther King, Jr. is the dumbed down version of what was originally taught to me in elementary school, most likely during this time of the year.  What I knew of him then, black  man, civil rights leader, against violence, famous for “I Have a Dream” speech, assassinated for his beliefs. My vow in 2011 is to learn my culture, my history, not just of Martin Luther King, but of all great African American leaders and social activists, and to teach my children that not all things can be learned in the classroom. 

Daughter, Bernice King, is president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, a group co-founded by her father 54 years ago, knows all too well the importance of upholding her father’s legacy and philosophy of nonviolence.  “I am a King, yet I am mindful that I am not the only one, ” King said as she stood in front of a congregation at Ebenezer Baptist Church.  Bernice King plays a key part in the movement for advancement of social equality and recognizes the crucial role and leadership of women in society today.   

“It is critical to the success of the next generation of social change to have the full and active commitment and participation of girls and women of all ages,” King said. “After all, as my mother would remind me, a woman’s place is in the struggle. We must be the soul of a nation.” MLK’s Daughter To Head Civil Rights Organization

The community makes a committment to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., through acts of service.  The Corporation for National & Community Service has organized a call to mark the 25th anniversay of the King Holiday a day on, not a day off, by launching the MLK 25 Challenge.  All Americans are urged to take a pledge to perform at least 25 acts of kindness during 2011 that will make a difference in the lives of others in and around their communities.  Learn how to take part in this action: http://mlkday.gov/

His spirit still lives on through his children, through me, and through the community.

Published in: on January 16, 2011 at 1:10 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sistaspace.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/tribute-to-dr-martin-luther-king-jr/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful! I was really inspired by Bernice King’s words. I love the idea of the MLK 25 Challenge too. Thanks for caring on the legacy of the King family.

    • Hi Sandra,
      Thank you. It is amazing to know that after all these years Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. is still such a prevalent part of our lives today. Though we have come far, there is much yet to be done. Thanks for stopping by.

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

  2. Wonderful post, Lisa!

    We should all know our heritage and expand our knowledge of history, no matter who we are or from whence we came.

    There are lots of resources for doing so and as an African American, one of my favorite sites is http://blackpast.org/

    The important thing is to try to learn something new each and everyday, regardless of the topic. I believe that any day that passes without having learned something new, is a day somewhat wasted.

    It can be just some small tid-bit of information or a tip we never knew about, but always learn something.

    Thanks for this post and best wishes on your journey!

    • Hi Jimi,
      Thank you for enjoying my tribute to Martin Luther King. I like your perspective on learning something new everyday and will be sure to challenge myself to act upon this. I also appreciate you sharing the great resource. See, I learned something already today! Thank you.

      Peace and blessings,
      Lisa

  3. Hi Lisa

    When I was growing up a few momentous moments in history occurred. One was Martin Luther King’s “I have a Dream” speech. And then the tragedy of his assassination. That was shattering.

    Here in Australia, I followed the civil rights movement in America. Watched with bewilderment atto why anyone would be denied basic rights. Life was uncomplicated when I was young. Have always found it hard to underwstand why anyone would judge someone by their ethnicity. Even as a child, my Father taught me to treat everyone as I would want to be treated….with respect.

    I’m glad his daughter did not lose hope and kept her faith too. Really loved the article. Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Patricia Perth Australia

    • Hi Patricia,
      Thank you for your kind words. It is always nice to have a different outlook on life in general, and especially from those on the outside looking in. I appreciate you sharing your childhood memories with me. I hope to create connections with all ethnicities to provide opportunities for open dialogue and experiences to educate.


Leave a Reply

